Week 13 – Starve a fever, feed a cold.

What a horrible/brilliant week. I alluded to the fact last week that I had man flu. So let me explain how the week has gone.

Tuesday Morning I went to my usual body combat class. Whilst I pushed myself through it well enough I had a bizarre feeling of a hangover, even though I hadn’t drank alcohol for a good few days. I felt kind of vacant and realised I was coming down with something. I went to work and got through the shift but felt steadily worse throughout the day.

Wednesday I was booked into Body Attack but cancelled as when I woke up I felt worse still. I was due at work at 13:30 and, even though I slept for about 9 hours the night before, I went back to bed after dropping Our Daughter off at nursery for a few hours. I was also due to be fasting but I know when I am feeling like this then I need to eat. It was most certainly a cold… but a very sever one. So bad that I realised after a few hours at work, I just wasn’t concentrating to the extent required to do my job safely so left early sick….. something which I hate to do but just needed to get back to my bed.

Thursday was a complete write off. Now in bed with medication I slept for most of the day, and during my awake hours ate. So eating and not moving = not ideal for weight loss!!!

Friday I was recovering slightly, however now I had to face up to the fact we had a busy weekend. So I continued to fuel my body with food and did little exercise. One of my wife colleagues was leaving work and she arranged for him and a few others to come to ours for a BBQ that evening. One of those things planned well in advance and would have been a doddle if it wasn’t for recovering from illness. I cooked for about 15 people including steak, lamb and slow roasted pulled pork.

Saturday allowed for a lie in and, as it was my birthday the following day, we went out as a family to Marlow. A town on the Thames with some lovely shops, parks and restaurants. My wife took me to a restaurant called chequers were we had one of the best Steaks I have eaten in this country, a piece of rib eye cooked to perfection.

Sunday was my birthday so I fasted and didn’t drink anything all day. Of course that is a lie. Breakfast in bed, left over Bbq from friday for lunch, Met up with lots of friends at the pub for multiple pints of Guinness followed by a Nandos dinner. All topped off with me sat on the sofa with a few beers watching the Masters golf until midnight. A great day!!!!!.

Monday was my daughters birthday… 4 years old. We took her to a theme park which involved lots walking, a healthy packed lunch, and dinner at Zizzis in Hampton – 1 x pizza Rustica. My wife had a go at me as I ordered full fat coke… and she was right – it is these choices that need to be changed so still work to do.

In truth, I still haven’t fully recovered from my illness. Ideally I would have rested all weekend as much as possible but with two birthdays and a leaving do this just was not going to happen – Monday night I was lying in bed and felt worse than I had done since I got the bug, I was hot, tired, sweaty and felt rubbish. I fell asleep at just gone 8pm and slept through till 7am. That seems to have done the trick – I don’t think the bug has entirely gone but I think/hope the worse of it has passed.

My plan for this coming week was always going to be just 2 fast days. I am on a golfing weekend away with friends on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, and as I knew we were at the theme park Monday this meant 2 of my usual fast days just weren’t going to happen. So I have decided that this week will be 2 fast days on Tuesday and Thursday.

So to the weigh in. Lets recap… Illness, a leaving do, 1 x gym session, 0 x fast days, 2 x birthdays…. hmmmmmm

INITIAL WEIGH IN  17ST 0

LAST WEEK              15st 11.50

TODAY………………..16st 0.0lbs

So a gain – not an unexpected one though so no major worries. take away the illness, even with everything else that went on, I would have fasted and gone to the gym so I will take this one on the chin and move on.

Richard

Leave a comment