Week 2 – Have I restarted well?

It goes without saying that my restart would be met will full confidence and an attitude to succeed. There would be no point restarting if that wasn’t the case – the only way I would have failed is if something hampered me … like getting ill….. WELL

I got ill….

No excuses here – I picked up a chest infection on Friday and only really managed to clear it today. That being said I still did my best to fast – I just didn’t exercise at all!!!

So having wrote the blog Wednesday I wasn’t sure if I was going to fast Thursday – as it was we went shopping in Kingston which meant breakfast at The Terrace – a restaurant/sandwich shop which is always packed – made good choices though by not having butter on my toast and having scrambled eggs and black coffee. That evening we were to see my parents for the first time in 4 weeks courtesy of them going on a long cruise round the Caribbean (alright for some) we all went out for dinner.

Friday I fasted – more shopping – this time to Windsor and just a black coffee whilst out. My chest infection had kept me up a bit the night before so on returning to our home town I left the wife shopping and came home for a few hours sleep. I woke and picked our daughter up from school and we all met in town. We walked past ‘the Thai place’ (see last weeks post) and I had a chicken stick – just some marinated chicken breast on a skewer BBQd. We came home and had fajitas for dinner … no alcohol though and I’m under my 600 kcal mark… GREAT STUFF.

Saturday and Sunday were standard fare for our household. Breakfast was egg on toast – swimming Saturday morning with our daughter and relaxed for most the rest of the day – needed as I still felt rubbish. Sunday we went out for dinner with friends. Our restaurant of choice was The Leftbank at The Runnymede Hotel. It’s not cheap but the food is amazing – I think I may have spoken about it during my earlier posts but essentially it is an eat as much as you like affair – a big table of starters (salads, breads, cheeses, soups, fish etc. followed by a carver roast – Rib of beef for me – and then a separate big table of desserts (which I limited myself to just a few spoonfuls) – a great meal with great friends.

Monday I was back at work for the fist time in 2 weeks. I didn’t eat all day – and probably didn’t need to after the feast the day before. Dinner was cottage pie – made with sweet potato mash.

I still had the tail end of the illness on Monday – in fact I am writing this Wednesday evening and have only felt better today – so really pleased with how the week has gone considering.

To take stock – a few really good meals out with family and friends, an annoying illness that resulted in no exercise, a couple of successful fast days and a fair amount of walking shopping….. To Tuesdays weigh in!!!!

INITIAL WEIGH IN  17ST 0

RESTART WEIGHT 16ST 5lbs

LAST WEEK              16ST 5lbs

TODAY………………..16st 2lbs

A THREE POUND LOSS – YAY – BACK ON TRACK…. NOW TO CONTINUE THIS FOR THE WEEK AND THROW IN SOME EXERCISE.

Leave a comment